We Nailed It!

Goddess S and I decided to go on a good ol’ fashioned trip to the mall today for knockaround shoes and shorts for summer. On an impulse we decided to get our nails done.

Now, I usually don’t make a habit of getting a “professional” manicure, but I forgot to bring my mani/pedi sets with me when I came to school for the year. So now I’m stuck paying a woman with an indecipherable accent $12 for something I can easily do myself.

Next time you want to get your nails done, do yourself a favor: save your money. Because Goddess H is gonna tell you how to do your own professional at-home manicure (fluency in Korean not required).

You Will Need:

-A Manicure Set
Okay, I know I’m trying to save you $12, and a good set will most likely cost more than that, but trust me, after a few at-home manicures, the set will pay for itself. I bought mine back in 2005 for somewhere around $20 (technically I got it for $4 because WalMart went insane…the point is, the set was originally $20 and after two manicures I got my  $4 back by not going to a professional), which isn’t bad considering it’s just as good as those really pricey department store ones.

I use one by a company called Ms. Manicure and it’s been good to me for the past 6 years.

Apparently sometime in a marketing meeting someone had the idea that pink and black makes people think of France.

-A Small Bowl
For water

-A Liquid Soap with Aloe
Or any kind that has any softening ingredient in it.

Your nails would thank you if they could talk...but they can't....because that would be weird.

-A Hand Towel

-An Exfoliate
My personal favorite is the “60 Second Manicure Hand Scrub” by True Blue Spa (Bath and Body Works)

They recently changed all the True Blue packaging from blue to pink. Way to mess with my head, Bath & Body!


-Hand Lotion
Also from True Blue, my favorite is one that used to be called “Look Ma, New Hands!”

I feel like I'm getting conjunctivitis just looking at the bottle.

Step 1: Fill your bowl halfway with lukewarm (not hot!) water. While the tap is running, squirt a little of your soap into the bowl. Soak your fingers in the water for about 3 to 5 minutes.

Step 2: Clean under your nails using the little brush in your manicure set. Wipe any excess water and soap off your hands with your towel.

Step 3: Using your cuticle nipper, clip off any hangnails you have.

Step 4: File your nails down to the shape you want them in using an emery board. I highly suggest getting the 7-sided emery board they have at WalMart. It’s inexpensive, and includes the steps for filing, buffing and polishing your nails right on the board itself.

Step 5: If you don’t have the 7-sided emery board, your manicure set should have a buffer. Buff your nails to smooth out any ridges.

Step 6: By this time you probably have nail dust all over your hands. Dip your nail brush into your water bowl and scrub your nails again. Wipe them off with your towel.

Step 7: Exfoliate your hands for about a minute, rinse and dry. Massage lotion through your hands, wrists and fingers. I hear this stimulates nail growth.

Step 8: If your emery board has a “shine” side, now’s the time to shine/polish your nails.

Step 9: Choose a color and paint your nails!

Step 10: Admire your handiwork.

-Goddess H

Leave a Reply

